Advisory Board | Duke Kunshan University

Advisory Board

32 distinguished business, government and education leaders are serving on Duke Kunshan’s Advisory Board, a voluntary non-governing group that provides strategic guidance to the Duke Kunshan leadership. Chaired by G. Richard Wagoner Jr., former chairman and chief executive officer of General Motors, each member of the advisory board is deeply committed to improving educational opportunities for future generations of students in China and around the world.

Duke Kunshan Advisory Board Members

G. Richard Wagoner Jr. (Chair of the Board)
Former Chairman and CEO, General Motors

Doug Baker
Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors, Ecolab Inc.

Raymund Chao
Chairman and CEO, PricewaterhouseCoopers Asia Pacific and China

Dhanin Chearavanont
Senior Chairman, Charoen Pokphand Group

Chen Xiaohong
Founding Partner, H Capital

James Ding
Managing Director, GSR Ventures

Victor K. Fung
Group Chairman, Fung Group
Honorary Chairman, Li & Fung Limited

Gao Xiqing
Hongtian Professor of Law, University of International Business and Economics
Former Vice Chairman and President, China Investment Corporation

Jin Haitao
Chief Executive Partner, Qianhai FOF
Former Chairman, Shenzhen Capital Group

Natalie G. Lichtenstein
Inaugural General Counsel, Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (retired)
Adjunct Professor of China Studies, The Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University

Kenneth G. Lieberthal
Senior Fellow Emeritus in Foreign Policy and Global Economy and Development
Former Director, John L. Thornton China Center, Brookings Institution

Howard Marks
Co-Chairman, Oaktree Capital Management

Liu Mingkang
Former Chairman, China Banking Regulatory Commission
Honorary Professor, Lingnan (University) College, Sun Yat-sen University
Honorary Distinguished Research Fellow, Lau Chor Tak Institute of Global Economics and Finance, and Honorary Professor of Business School, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dede Nickerson
Head of Strategy and Producer, Huanxi Media
Advisor, NBA China

David M. Rubenstein
Co-Founder and Co-Chairman, The Carlyle Group

Chauncey Shey
Managing Partner, Softbank China Venture Capital Pte. Ltd.

Laurene Sperling
President, Sperling Family Office
Chair, Duke University’s Board of Trustees

David S. Taylor
Executive Chairman of the Board, The Procter & Gamble Company

Daniel M. Tsai
Chairman, Fubon Group

Wang Huiyao
Founder and President, Center for China and Globalization (CCG)

Wang Jian
Chairman, BGI

Wang Jingbo
Co-Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Noah Holdings

Wang Peng
Co-Founder and CEO, Synear Food

Jesse J. Wu
Former Chairman, Johnson & Johnson China 

Yang Yuanqing
Chairman and CEO, Lenovo

Michael Yu
Co-founder, CEO and President, Innovent Biologics, Inc.

Elizabeth Yang
Co-Chairman, County Garden Holdings

Yuan Ming
Dean, Yenching Academy of Peking University
Professor, Vice-President, Institute of International and Strategic Studies, Peking University

Zhang Lei
Founder, Chairman and CEO, Hillhouse Capital Management Group

Zhang Xingsheng
Chairman, Knicks Capital Co., Ltd.
Chairman, The Forever Nature Capital Foundation

Zhang Yichen
Chairman and CEO, CITIC Capital Holdings Limited
Chairman, Trustar Capital

Zhang Youjun
Chairman, CITIC Securities Co., Ltd.

Members Emeritus:

Mary Barra
Chairman and CEO, General Motors Company

Jack O. Bovender, Jr.
Former Chairman and CEO, Hospital Corporation of America

Hu Maoyuan
Former Chairman, SAIC Motor Corporation Limited
President, Shanghai Enterprise Confederation and Shanghai Entrepreneurs' Association

Andrew T. Huang
President and CEO, Koo Foundation Sun Yat-Sen Cancer Center

Lawrence J. Lau
Ralph and Claire Landan Professor of Economics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Former Chairman, CIC International (Hong Kong)

W.James McNerney, Jr.
Former Chairman and CEO, The Boeing Company

Dennis M. Nally
Chairman, PricewaterhouseCoopers International Ltd.

Thomas R. Nides
Vice Chairman, Morgan Stanley
Former Deputy United States Secretary of State for Management and Resources

Clark T. Randt, Jr.
Former Ambassador of the United States of America to the People’s Republic of China

Susan L. Shirk
Chair, 21st Century China Program, and Ho Miu Lam Chair of China and Pacific, School of International Relations and Pacific Studies, University of California, San Diego

Kirk R. Smith
Professor of Global Environmental Health, School of Public Health, University of California, Berkeley
Member of the United States National Academy of Sciences

Zhong Nanshan
Director, State Key Laboratory of Respiratory Diseases
Former Director, Guangzhou Institute of Respiratory Diseases
Former President, Chinese Medical Association

Xu Xiaoping
Founder, Partner and Executive Director, Zhen Fund

Zhang Xinsheng
Executive Chairman, Eco-Forum Global President
China Education Association for International Exchange
Former Vice Minister, Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China
Former Chairman, Executive Board of UNESCO